40 under 40: Solomon Williams

Image

Solomon Williams (second from left), founder & CEO, BidWilly.com

See more at Orlando Business Journal 40 Under 40 2012

Name, title and company: Solomon Williams, Founder & CEO, BidWilly.com

Age: 34

My best business achievement in the past year: Being able to put more small businesses to work through winning contracts. We are now up to $720k a year in small contracts/jobs awarded, our best year to date.

Key business lesson learned: To not wait until things are perfect when launching your business or new service. Test the market as early as possible to gauge a response from your potential customers.

Community involvement: I spend a lot of my time speaking to at-risk youths and educating aspiring entrepreneurs. I also like to work one-on-one with the homeless to provide job placement assistance or food/shelter.

First job: Williams Floor Covering & Carpet Cleaning (family business)

Favorite reward for myself; A fresh pair of Adidas

Favorite eatery: New Orleans Cajun Seafood (Orlando)

Little-known fact about me: I’m from a small town that no one probably heard of – Gretna Florida.

Motto: Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.

I’ve always wanted to learn: To speak Spanish and Chinese

Where I spend most of my disposable income: Traveling

Favorite vacation spot: Anywhere I haven’t been (up next, China)

Favorite phone app: Zite (for now)

Favorite song on the radio now: Best You Ever Had (John Legend)

What superpower I’d want and why: The ability to teleport. Because it’s cheaper than flying to all the places I want to go.

Favorite cartoon as a kid: Popeye

What celebrity I’d like to trade places with for a day: Donald Trump

Leave a comment